Newsletter for the Rotary Club of Canberra - Issue No.: 418 Issue Date: 30 Oct, 2014

Members & Friends Login... Username: Password:
<< <
Focus on Infectious Disease

The Club was privileged to hear an informative address by the Chief Medical Officer of Australia, Prof Chris Baggoley at this week's meeting, on the topic "Australia's Response to Emerging Infectious Diseases". Professor Baggoley (pictured above at the meeting) made an otherwise sombre topic a very entertaining presentation, which was appreciated by all present. It was also heartening to see such a good attendance - some 43 people were crammed into the small room allocated to us, and we had to turn away some members when the registration list was filled.

Prof Baggoley spoke about the current "hot" topic in diseases, Ebola, and our club member, Yvonne Luxford, briefly addressed the club to appeal for people to join with her to raise funds to help with the Ebola crisis in Africa. Would any interested members please contact Yvonne re this.

We were delighted to receive a visit from Romel Deinla, Past President of the Rotary Club of Calapan in the Philippines, who presented to our club a Certificate of Recognition from his club for our assistance in a Rotary Foundation Matching Grant project some six years ago. Unfortunately Romel was unable to attend our meeting, but presented the Certificate and exchanged banners with President Jeff outside the Commonwealth Club. A photo of this presentation will be on our Facebook page.

Also on Facebook is a lovely message from our previous exchange student, William Le Clef. I strongly urge you to log in and read it.He is a great advertisement for the value of the Youth Exchange program.

A reminder that we are in full planning and organising mode for our major community service project,the Seniors Concert. Please offer whatever assistance that you can to the various organising personnel. Contact person is Natalie Vandepeer.

This Thursday evening the Rotaract club is seeking our members' participation in a speed-networking event at their regular meeting (7pm, Hellenic Club, Moore Street, City). Please contact me if you are interested and haven't yet committed to it. Given the closer relationship that is developing with Rotaract, it would be great to be able to support them in this initiative.

Next month is Foundation Month, and we will have PDG Bruce Allen from Sydney at our meeting to speak on this topic. Hopefully we will see most of you there.

- President Jeff

2014 District Conference... DGs Rowley and Barry would like to warmly welcome you to the combined 9675/9710 District Conference. Please join us at the National Convention Centre, Canberra from 14-16 November 2014.

Click to register and to check how you can win a financial advice package at the same time.

Rotary Club of Canberra
            Office Holders

President - Jeff Bradley PHF

Secretary - Natalie Vandepeer-Bradley PP PHF

Treasurer - Mike Sargent

President Elect  - Peter Hughes PHF

Club Service & Fundraising  - Gill McFeat-Lin PP, PHF

Foundation Director - Paul Street OAM PDG PHF

Membership Director - Peter Hughes PHF

Sergeant - Bruce Mackay PHF

International Service - Phil Byrne PHF

Community Service - Michele Whitters PHF

Youth Service - Paul O'Connor PP PHF

Vocational Service Govert Mellink PP

Website & PR Director - Rim El Kadi


Public Officer - Tim Johnstone

Speakers' Roster - Gill McFeat

Weekly Bulletin e-mail - Rim El Kadi

Front Desk Organisation - Natalie Vandepeer-Bradley PP PHF

Special Days
Tue, 4 Nov - Cathy Lee's Birthday

Fri, 7 Nov - Janice Campbell's Birthday

Thu, 13 Nov - Nineta Barbulescu's Birthday

Thu, 30 Oct - Dan and Nineta Barbulescu will be celebrating 22 years of Marriage

Fri, 31 Oct - Mario Rosi will have served our Rotary club for 3 years

Meeting Rosters
Front Desk
Front Desk
Raffle Prize
03 Nov, 14
Dan Barbulescu
John Hawley
Peter Hughes
Michele Whitters
10 Nov, 14
Hugh Dakin
Howard Kemp
Michael Kumm
Richard Wilson
17 Nov, 14
Rim El Kadi
Michael Kumm
Lachlan Lewis
Mandy Yap
24 Nov, 14
Rick Forster
Andy Liu
Yvonne Luxford
Dan Barbulescu
01 Dec, 14
Jeremy Hearder
Gillian McFeat Lin
Marion McMillan
Gerard Brennan
08 Dec, 14
Max Kimber
Helen Moore
George Nicola
Tony Cooper
© Copyright 2006 R. L. Dender All Rights Reserved